Week 26: Lyon take 2

Yes it’s that time again… Lyon take 2 here we come.

Day 187: Spa day. Today was a very chilled day in Royat at the thermal spas. For a whole day it was only 34€ which was an absolute bargain. They had a variety of baths and temperatures, including one called the frigidarium… any guesses what temperature this water was? Absolutely blooming freezing!! As soon as I got in there I did this sort of ooo ahhh noise as it was breathtakingly cold. I ran from one side to the other then hopped straight into the 40 degrees Celsius bath. This crazy man was just sat in the frigidarium for ages, I mean what an absolute loon!

Day 188: Jour férié. The 1st of May marks a bank holiday for France so practically everything was closed all day, university, shops, supermarkets and no buses or trams were running, so Lucille and I decided to go to Parc Montjuzet and do a little exercise session. It’s safe to say we got a fair few looks from people as we were doing our squats and using our dumbbells, but oh well or in French you’d say Tant Pis.

Day 189+190: Translation exam. Not too interesting today but I conquered my translation exam today which was not the easiest. Mainly because one of the articles included vocab such as mortgage and recession, which I have never ever learnt in French. I found my way round it though by describing the word instead, but it did take a little bit of brain power. Well that’s 2 exams down 6 down to go.

Day 191: Lyon Day 1. Been waiting all week to say I’m off to Lyon again! Once we arrived we found ourselves back at the Basilique and discovering the old roman amphitheatres. So much history, great views and gorgeous weather, it really was one of those moments where you think wow I am so lucky to be able to do this. Later on Lucille and I had dinner at a British pub in Lyon called Wallace. Yes I know what you’re thinking, really a British pub in France why don’t you want French food. To be honest we just really wanted onion rings and there was some live music providing some dinnertime entertainment which was a bonus. They were English too but the woman needed to tone down the volume a bit as her voice cut straight through you. We then moved on to our favourite cocktail place called Big Whites. The French don’t go soft with their alchohol as the cocktails were very strong and 2 was plenty enough.

Day 192: Allez Le Lou! Up and out straight to get breakfast at our favourite place Diploid. Now I love avocado but this avocado toast was seriously something else. Not only did it have literally a whole avocado on top, there was also avocado paste on the bread as well. It was pure avocado overload. We managed to waddle out of there after feeling very full and set off to the museum of fine art. I don’t know alot about art but my goodness was the modern art section strange. How is a pure black page art, anyone could do that. I will never understand how that can go for thousands of pounds. People with more money than sense I think would fall for that. Museum finished and it was time to meet up with our friend Lydia back from UEA who is currently studying in Lyon. It was so lovely to catch up with her and see how well she’s doing here. By the late afternoon we were very tired from walking around all day in the sun but there was no time to rest as we had a rugby match to go to. Lyon vs Montpellier. I have always loved watching rugby as the atmosphere is just so electric and chilling, especially since Lyon won! The whole crowd roared and all the Lyon rugby players and managers spilled out onto the pitch with pure happiness and joy. It was a perfect night.

Day 193: Chilling in the Park with friends. It’s our last day in Lyon and we needed a more relaxed day, especially since it was 27 degrees Celsius! We went to Parc de la Tete D’or which has a range of things inside from botanical gardens to mini golf and a zoo with giraffes, lions and a red panda. After wandering round the zoo we headed straight for the shade and caught up with our friends for a little picnic. It’s safe to say I got a little bit burnt after today despite trying to stay underneath the trees, but the problem is the sun moves obviously and by that point my skin was glowing like a tomato. The park was buzzing with people, children and happiness, it was a real picture and I wished my family was here to experience it with me as well. To finish off the weekend Lucille and I went back to YAAFA (the falafel place) and got two falafel pittas and sat by a fountain watching the world go by. Lyon will always have a special place in my heart.

You and Me Roam Free.

Leave a comment